Car Accidents

Congratulations, Graduates…. But Don’t Drink and Drive.

3 min read

With high school and college graduations, followed by the summer vacation, it is a time of year that provides a lot of opportunities for drinking, particularly for people who are under the age of twenty-three. According to data released by the National Transportation Safety Board, the effects of alcohol on young drivers, combined with less experience behind the wheel, dangerously increases the likelihood of fatal car wrecks.

The majority of automobile fatalities in this country, regardless of alcohol, are caused by drivers under the age of 26. But “every drink raises a driver’s crash risk level exponentially,” according to Deborah Hersmann, the chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board.

The Board’s data reveals that 39 drivers between the ages of 16 and 29 were involved in fatal car wrecks with a blood alcohol content of only 0.01%. 30 of the 39 drivers were under the age of 26 and all of them had a blood alcohol content that’s approximately 98%below the legal limit in Texas. Just because it’s legal, does not make it safe because…

It is NEVER safe to drink and drive, regardless of your age or how much you have had to drink, but for young drivers, alcohol is incredibly dangerous. If that’s not enough, providing alcohol to drivers can also expose you to criminal charges and civil liability.

Under the Alcoholic Beverage Code Section 2.02, “an adult 21 years of age or older is liable for damages proximately caused by the intoxication of a minor under the age of 18 if the adult is not the minor’s parent, guardian, spouse or court ordered custodian and the adult knowingly served or provided to the minor any of the alcoholic beverages that contributed to the minor’s intoxication.” An adult can also be held liable if they “allowed the minor to be served or provided any of the alcoholic beverages that contributed to the minor’s intoxication on the premises owned or leased by the adult.” Essentially, if you are not the minor’s parent, or legal equivalent, providing alcohol to a minor or allowing a minor to be given alcohol on your property, whether you own it or lease it, could make you liable if the minor then injures someone.

In a recent court opinion from Houston’s 14th Circuit Court of Appeals, Texas may be opening the door to civil liability for social hosts who serve alcohol to other adults as well. The case, Plunkett v. Nall, does not say whether the hosts were liable or not, simply stating that if a social host voluntarily prevents guests who have been drinking from driving, there could be a duty to act with ordinary care. That, unfortunately, does not provide a lot of guidance.

An Illinois case may shed some light on what the Houston case means in Texas. In the Illinois case, the social host provided alcohol to a young girl who then began vomiting and passed out. The host put a pillow under her head but did not call her parents or attempt to get her medical help. The girl died the next day. The Illinois Supreme Court said that the social host could be liable in those circumstances. While the law regarding social host liability in the situations raised by the Plunkett case is not clear in Texas, if you are providing alcohol, be safe about it.

If you are under the age of 21, don’t drink. If you are over the age of 21, don’t drink and drive. Congratulations to all the graduates out there, but be safe and be smart.

Don’t settle for this point in your life. Let our Longview car accident lawyers help you. At the Sloan Firm, we make our clients our #1 priority!

Call For a Free Consultation

(800) 730-0099

Signup for our newsletter to receive news and updates

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.